Writing

NaNoWriMo Update

NANOWRIMO UPDATE!

NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo- National Novel Writing Month

Basically, if you haven’t heard of NaNoWriMo, it’s when people try to write 50,000 words (a novel) during the month of November. That’s 1600ish words per day.

And me, being the bright person I am, decided to sign up for it! Yep, that’s right. I thought, well, I have school + a college class + lots of homework + lots of other stuff, let’s add writing 50,000 words in a month. Sounds like a brilliant idea!

That didn’t turn out so well for me. By now, I’m supposed to have written 35,000 words to be on track. I’ve written 9,000. Oops. School took priority for me, which I’m glad but also disappointed in. At least that’s 9000 words I didn’t have written at the month! Also, I decided to do NaNo on October 30th. A lot of people outline and outline for months before November. I didn’t have an outline. I had the vaguest idea of what I wanted to write, but that was it.

If you’re curious, my novel is a YA fantasy about a girl named Aliya who has a power. She’s kept locked away in a castle by her mother, so no one would try to steal her away. Also, so that her mother could use the power for herself. One day, the king finds out about Aliya’s power, and wants to kill her for it. She’s forced to flee the country with her best friends Ellie and Cal, and the entire nation is searching for her.

Does that sound interesting? It’s a lot more than that, but that’s a small, incomplete synopsis.

Here’s an excerpt:

“Aliya rolled up the sleeve of her blue dress to her elbow, and held out her hand to her mother. Catherine grabbed her outstretched arm and placed Aliya’s hand on her forehead.

Aliya concentrated on pushing all of her energy into her mother. She pushed all the energy that made her into the arm touching Catherine, and then out of her arm into her. The golden threads visibly entered her mother’s body, spreading from her face down her neck, her shoulders, her arms, disappearing beneath her dress, spreading all over her body. Catherine’s body relaxed, and her wrinkles faded.”

Next year, I’m going to do NaNo again. I’m going to prepare for it. If I have to stay in my room all month, only leaving for ice cream, well. If that’s what it’ll take, I’ll do it. I want to win.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? How is it going for you? Are you planning to do it next year?

Thanks for reading, and happy writing if you’re doing NaNo!

Ava

10 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Update

  1. Sounds good! I’m doing it too but I have so many things to do this month that I have only written 12,000 words… I’m still going to try again next year, and be better prepared! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

