Writing

Struggles of Writing//In Which I Complain About #WriterProblems

 Struggles of Writing//In Which I Complain About #WriterProblems

Writing is really great, don’t get me wrong. I looooooooove it. I mean, that’s why I do it? I wouldn’t write if I didn’t enjoy it! But sometimes (all the time because YOU’RE STRINGING WORDS TOGETHER WHILE TRYING TO MAKE IT SOUND COHERENT AND BE FUN TO READ), it’s HARD. There are so many #writerproblems out there. And I’m a naturally complaintive (is that even a word?) person, SO, obviously I had to write a blog post about it.

My many many many struggles of writing:

  • When you have too many ideas and not enough time.

I have so many great (well, I think they’re great) ideas for novels and I just DON’T HAVE THE TIME TO WRITE THEM ALL.

  • When you close the tab you’re writing in and you don’t know if you saved it or not.

I do this ALL THE TIME. And then I’ll frantically rush to open the tab again, and desperately hope that I’m wrong, that I did save it. 9.99999999/10 it saved, but there  is always that chance that it didn’t, and I get so scared that a whole bunch of words will have been deleted.

  • When you come up with a great idea and then you realize it’s already been done. 

I’ve done this before. I start writing, and then I remember that I’ve read something like this before, and I’m not stealing their ideas, but it’s just too similar and you have to throw a perfectly good idea away.

  • When you think you’ve been writing furiously and really fast, and then you check your word count, and you’ve written 200 words.

This happens to me way too much, and it’s such a mood-killer. I’ll be happy and excited and feeling like a writing Queen, and then I’ll see the numbers, and it’s just so disheartening.

  • When you have a terrible memory and you forget things you’ve written about.

Is this character related to that character? Do they hate each other? Am I breaking an rules I’ve already established? I HAVE AN AWFUL MEMORY. I DON’T REMEMBER ANYTHING.

  • When your hand is cramping from writing so much but you still want to write.

This is a GOOD problem to have. Kind of. It means you’re GETTING STUFF DONE. While hurting yourself, but, ya know, it’s all part of the writer life.

  • When you want to stay up and write but you’re falling asleep at the keyboard and it’s 2 AM.

The WORDS ARE COMING. But your eyelids keep closing and you’re tired but you have to get these words out before they disappear.

  • When you have a GREAT IDEA but you’re out and about and don’t have pen and paper or your phone to write it on.

This always happens to me in the shower. I do my best thinking there, all right? Is it just me? But there is nowhere to write it down and so by the time I’m out, those ideas might as well have never existed.

  • When you sit in front of a computer screen for 3 hours because THE WORDS WON’T FLOW.

This is pretty self explanatory. And it happens to me TOO MUCH. Writing takes forever.

  • When you get a lot of words written, and look back over them, and realize they are all terrible and don’t make any sense and you have to delete all of them.

Yep. It’s awful when this happens. Bye bye words! I’m better off without you anyway. I just remind myself that deleting these words will make my story better. While editing, I was going to have to delete them anyway, so it’s better to do it now and get better words written.

  • When you’re eating while writing and you spill food on the keyboard and it gets all sticky and between the keys.

I HATE THIS. Writing makes me extra hungry, and so I’ll be eating, and BAM. Food on the keys.

  • When people keep interrupting you while you’re trying to write and you HAVE YOUR HEADPHONES ON FOR A REASON, PEOPLE, CAN’T YOU SEE I DON’T WANT TO TALK TO YOU?!

I’m looking at you, parents and sister. If I’m listening to music and writing, it means I don’t want to be bothered. I’m in the “writing zone”, so don’t interrupt me! Because if you do, well… Bad things will happen.

  • When you let someone read your writing and you’re just WAITING for them to say something about it and it’s so PAINFUL. 

I don’t let many people read my writing, especially right now, because this is my first draft. It’s terrible. It’s not meant to be good. Editing will fix that!! Maybe THEN I’ll let you read it. But there’s a few people who I might send a few pages or my whole draft to, and when you’re just WAITING and WAITING for feedback, the anticipation KILLS YOU. And not in a good way.

What are some of your struggles of writing? Do you agree with any of mine?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

11 thoughts on “Struggles of Writing//In Which I Complain About #WriterProblems

  1. THIS IS TOO RELATABLE. OH, MY HEART. You have NO idea how many times I’ve tried writing stuff and yes I feel like I’m such a great writer and this stuff happened and that and there were all these action things happening and when I look at the word count it’s barely even a thousand words. Then you realize everything just happened really fast and then I’d have to rewrite it again and I just oh, my poor poor heart.

    I’ve also experienced the one where I’ve got this GREAAAAT great idea in mind but I’m in the middle of something and writing it on paper or typing it on my phone isn’t really much of an option, then by the time I do get to jot it down I’ve already forgotten 99% of it. SUCH WONDERFUL IDEAS, WASTED.

    Loved this post, Ava!

    Like

  2. OMG YES YES YES. Yesterday I had the most fantastic idea but I had nowhere to write it on but today morning I REMEMBERED IT AS I WOKE UP but now I’ve completely forgotten it. Gah. I always put on headphones to signal to my parents I can’t hear them (I actually can and it makes for amusing eavesdropping).

    Congrats on hitting 20K with PIRATES!!

    Like

  3. Oh my gosh this is TRUTH 😄 haha, I LOVE this list so much, I can so relate to this. Hand cramps- check. Too many ideas not enough time- check. An idea that has already been done- YES XD.
    This list is just so spot on :). I think the WORST writer problem except for writers block has to be feeling like you wrote 50,909 words but in reality, it was only 50 XD. That feeling is awful!! Nice post 🙂 have a great day!

    Like

  4. I can TOTALLY relate to all of these, especially the food on the keyboard problem. Writing is exhilarating and exhausting. A struggle for me is that I always end up comparing my first draft to someone else’s finished one and get discouraged. It’s that little voice that says, “This really doesn’t look good. Let’s scrap it all and never touch Word ever again.” But the best part of writing is being in The Zone and feeling what you’re writing so intensely that it’s no longer you and the page. You ARE the page, the words, and the emotions behind them.

    Like

  5. Dude, I feel all of these. SO HARD. I once had an idea about a girl who could see death dates above people’s heads and she was sort of an outcast, etc etc, and then halfway through plotting the idea, I realized Rachel Ward had already done it. That’s the only time it’s happened so far (and I LOVED “Numbers” and highly recommend it) but it was still so traumatic at first. Merp.

    Also, I have SO MANY IDEAS RIGHT NOW. Like, 30-something, and when you split each idea into its respective set of books (because some ideas need to be duologies and even trilogies) I have 45-ish books set to write. I am a mess. WHY CAN’T I HAVE A FREAKING TIME MACHINE?! OR AN ELIXER OF LIFE?! SOMEBODY FETCH IT FOR ME.

    *ahem*

    Great post, Ava! ❤

    Like

  6. I can definitely relate to several things you mentioned. Another thing that makes writing difficult for me is that my family can be so noisy. It has been a little quieter since my brother went to college, but the best time for me to write is when my parents are working.

    Like

  7. Ooh I agree with so many of these! I don’t really get hand cramps because I type my stories but boy do I get them in exams 😛 There’s also having so much school work that you don’t have time to sit down and write… :/ 😛

    Like

  8. Oh my stars, I can relate to almost all of those (except for spilling food on the keyboard. That is a no go around my laptop …) But the others are definitely all on point with me! Writing life is hard!

    Like

  9. I just LOVE this so much, and I can totally relate! I’m ALWAYS so scared that I didn’t save my doc, either, and I end up closing and opening it three times to check and clicking the saving button like crazy, haha. And I HATE when I feel like I have a revolutionnary idea, then just realize it’s already been done. Ohh, and yes, when I feel like I’m writing TONS of words and really got it going, and afterwards I figure out that I only wrote 200 words, I feel SO sad.
    Out of curiosity, what are you writing? Did you participate in NaNoWriMo? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

