Writing

Snazzy Snippets: Valentine’s Day Edition And Writing Update!

 Snazzy Snippets: Valentine’s Day Edition and Writing Update!

I have a few exciting writing related things in this blog post, so read on if you’re interested in my ramblings about writing!

Let’s start with the writing update.

As you may have seen on Twitter, an exciting writing related thing happened to me this past week: I hit 20k words on PIRATES!!, my WIP! 20k is a huge deal for me. I’ve never written that much on one project before, and it shows that I might actually finish writing this book!

Also, I completely changed my plans for PIRATES!! Well, the romantic plans for it have changed.

Before, I had my MC, Alexandra, liking this prince who was not yet named. But that’s so unoriginal and boring (at least I think so). So NOW, she ends up liking Cait, her best friend!!!!! (Insert a million more exclamation points.)

I am SO excited for this. I think it’ll add so much more to the story, PLUS f/f romance in fantasy! It’s my favorite thing to read, so of course I had to put it in my book.

This month, for the first time EVER, I am linking up with Snazzy Snippets to share parts of my WIP!

What is Snazzy Snippets? I’m glad you asked.

Taken from Alyssa’s blog:

Snazzy Snippets is an opportunity for writers! Every two months, we post a prompt or question for you to share a snippet of less than 500 words. It’s designed to let you have fun, analyse your work on a smaller level, or just write something to join in. 

If you’re not a writer, or aren’t working on anything, don’t go back up the rabbit hole just yet. Read everyone’s wonderful snippets on the linky!

It’s hosted by Alyssa at The Devil Orders Takeout and Emily at Loony Literate.

All of the snippets will be from PIRATES!!, my current WIP, which I have talked about before on here.

This month is Valentine’s Day themed, AND since I’m a little rebel, I’ll be altering the prompts a little. They are all romantic-y.

But my MC, Alexandra, has just realized she likes Cait at the point in the story I’m at, so nothing in the prompts fits me. So, my snippet will be the time when Alexandra realizes she likes her best friend!

1. A snippet where one character realizes they like the other character. 

(Very official, right?)

Holding back tears, Alexandra hurried into her own room, rushing for the comfort of her own bed.

But why was she crying? It wasn’t like she had any business concerning who Cait slept with. Wasn’t it only a week prior that she had danced with lots of men at the ball? Cait hadn’t had any issues with that. So why was she so bothered by this?

Alexandra knew that Cait liked girls. It had never been a problem. She’d seen Cait with other girls before, sure. It hadn’t bothered her then, though, so why was it bothering her now?

An idea struck her.

No, no. It couldn’t be that. Alexandra pushed the thought away. But as she lay there, face pressed against the cool sheets, her mind kept returning to that one thought.

Was she in love with her best friend?

The bed was comfortable and inviting, and if Alexandra had her way, she would stay in it all day, and not have to face Cait. Her friend would have no clue about the thoughts that were running through Alexandra’s brain, but Alexandra would. And somehow, someway, she would give it away. And ruin their friendship.

Did she even want to be “just friends”? Nothing would ever happen romantically between them- Cait wouldn’t like her. Would it be painful to see Cait everyday and have to pretend like everything was fine?

She’d have to deal with it. She couldn’t lose her best friend.

A pounding came from the door, and seconds later, Cait barged in.

“Speakofthedevil”, Alexandra mumbled into her pillow.

“Sorry, didn’t quite catch that.” Cait said. Her voice was light, and it was obvious that she was completely oblivious to the internal struggle Alexandra was experiencing currently.

She groaned into her pillow.

“I didn’t understand that either.”

Alexandra said nothing.

There was a moment of awkward silence, which Cait broke by saying, “Sorry about earlier. I really should remember to lock my door.”

Of course she brought that up. Right when Alexandra had wanted to forget all about it.

“Yeah, that might be a good idea.” Alexandra rolled over. Cait stood above her, her short hair framing her narrow face.”I wouldn’t want to walk in and see you guys doing something-uh- worse.”

As she was saying this, Alexandra hid the pain it brought her. Just thinking about Cait doing things with another girl made her slightly jealous. But she had no right to be envious at all.

Cait was blushing, her whole face turning a shade of pink that was too damned adorable.

How had she not realized she liked Cait before? Even just watching her made Alexandra want to kiss her. To pull her to the bed beside her. To wrap her legs around Cait, pulling her closer. To have there be nothing, no clothes, nothing but skin, between them.

Alexandra didn’t realize she was lost in thought until Cait coughed and asked, “Xan, are you okay?”

Alexandra wished she could say what she was thinking. Oh, I’m totally fine. I just realized I like you, a hell of a lot more than I thought I did, and I can’t do anything about it. But I’m perfectly okay!

She imagined the look on Cait’s face, the astonishment.

Instead, she only said, “I’m fine, just tired.”

That’s the only romantic snippet I have in my WIP (so far!). When I finish the book, believe me, there will be lots and lots of kissing. So that’s the only snippet I have today!

I’ll be participating in this link up more and more now, and I’m really excited about it.

What did you think of the snippet, and my plans for the novel? Are you as excited about Cait and Alexandra as I am?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

3 thoughts on “Snazzy Snippets: Valentine’s Day Edition And Writing Update!

  1. Your enthusiasm has completely infected me and I’m so so so happy that you linked up! The f/f romance in my WIP also came to me spontaneously halfway through the first draft, so *high five* I love the insight into Xan’s mind here. Write all the words, Ava!

    Thank you for linking up with us 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

