Blogging

How Much Should We Care About Stats?

 How Much Should We Care About Stats?

If you are a blogger, you most likely check your stats. Daily? Weekly? Monthly? Who knows, but almost all, if not all, bloggers check their stats.

Stats show how your blog has grown. They can be wonderful, or they can be saddening. I know I’ve checked my pageviews for the day and found that a tiny number of people came to my blog that day. It’s disheartening. It makes you think, What if no one cares about my blog? If no one reads it, why am I even doing this? 

But you have to remember that people DO care about your blog. You might just be having a bad day. Maybe you didn’t post that day.

I have to admit, I probably care about my stats more than I should, and check them WAY more often than I should.

I need to remember: Stats don’t determine your blog’s success. Sure, more popular blogs obviously have higher stats, but are your really blogging for the stats? At least for me, the answer is NO. I’m blogging to help people, to teach them something, to spread my love of books. Yes, I care about the stats. But what makes me happier than a high pageview day is one meaningful comment. Yes, just one. A comment saying, I loved this post! I adore your blog and can’t wait to see your next posts. You’re going to do amazing things! etc is way better to me than a lot of views. A comment like that will make my day. And if multiple people comment on a post? Even better!

Yes, I like seeing that, hey, I got a lot of views on this post! People must have liked it! But how do I know that they actually read and enjoyed it and will come back for more? I really don’t.

A loyal following is better than a higher one. If you have a smaller number people returning to your blog because they love it, isn’t that better than a lot of people clicking on your blog for two seconds, then never coming back? Those loyal followers will comment again and again, and will support you AND be more likely to purchase something from you if you decide to start a business.

Stats do matter. I LIKE looking at my stats! But sometimes, I can get obsessive and check them constantly. The past week, my stats have been low- and I KNOW why! It’s because the last two posts I published weren’t my best. They weren’t helpful, or informative, and I now know that people didn’t like them as much!

One of them was a review. Reviews never get as many views as regular posts, I’m used to that. It just made me sad, that I’d put effort into a post that people didn’t see or care about. And I know that I shouldn’t feel this way. It’s my blog, and I can do what I want with it!

Stats are useful. They tell us what people like to see, and can make you really excited when that number is high. But they can also make you really disappointed when they aren’t as good as you expected.

My good friend Alex from Fiery Reads talked about how she doesn’t check her stats in a recent blog post. Wow. I couldn’t believe it when I heard that! It must be refreshing. But I don’t think I could not check my stats. I like knowing my stats, how my blog is doing, how my latest post is doing.

How much do you care about stats? How often do you check your blog’s stats?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

16 thoughts on “How Much Should We Care About Stats?

  1. Thanks for this post, hopefully I can chill out and not worry about the stats for my very new book blog as I have been checking multiple times a day. Comments are so much nicer than page-views though. Do you know how its possible to get a spammy comment without any page views btw (got that yesterday)?

    Like

  2. I don’t really check my stats, other than a glance at my dashboard to gauge what’s doing well and what’s dying a death topic-wise. I do so much stat analysis in my day job I think I’m burned out when it comes to my own blog! It’s all about quality not quantity when it comes to web traffic, I’d prefer to have only 10 views if thoese 10 people commented/shared/liked etc than 1,000 views that generated nothing.

    Like

  3. Thanks for the post. As a new blogger I’m always worried about my stats. I want people to visit and see what I’m writing. It’s a bit of an obsession. Has someone liked a post? How many posts should I have a day? Why hasn’t anyone commented? I just need to remember I shouldn’t compare my blog to others that have been around for a while. It’s hard not to. I’m relieved to know I’m not alone in this. Again, that you for the post. I love reading your blog ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t check my stats obsessively. I glance at it when I look at the dashboard but that’s about it. I prefer to see comments and interaction on my post instead. I obvs love to talk and interact with my readers so I don’t obsess about nit having enough viewers per day.

    But that doesn’t mean that I don’t care about my stats. It is still important to look at it to see which type of post is popular. Although my reviews don’t get as much traffic as the other posts, I still get comments! I recently changed my review style and overall voice of my reviews and I have had positive responses to it! Maybe your challenge would be to change/spice up your review style?

    Like

  5. My mom used to say this a lot when I was younger, ” If you watch water boil, it’ll never boil. ” That sounds weird, right? But it’s kinda true. Boil some water one day and watch it, that shit will feel like it took foreverrrrrrrrrr to boil lol. Anywho, the point I’m trying to make is, constantly watching your stats won’t make them go up. I know some bloggers like to check their stats to see how many people have visited, but for me all this does is drive you crazy! What if you posted a review that you worked incredibly hard on, and no one stopped by your blog that day, that week? You’d feel down about it right? To be completely honest, I NEVER check my stats. The only time I do (and this is really only my social media stats) is when I’m doing an arc request, and because I’ve worked with most publishers already, it’s not something that I have to keep doing. My advice would be to just focus on your content. Your content and networking will eventually bring your stats up!

    Oh, and of course you being awesome will help too ❤

    Like

  6. I check my stats a lot, just like you 🙂 it isn’t that I care about it more than the actual posts, it’s just that I want to know how my blog is growing.
    And this post was amazing! Just like every other post of yours 💖

    Like

  7. I check mine quite often after I make a post, but I guess that’s because I’m a very new blog and I want to see what kind of posts people are interested in. I also like to know where people are being referred from and if it’s worth my time mentioning my blog on my other social media platforms.

    Like

  8. I used to look at them frequently but now I only check them when I go to edit a blog post – like once or twice a week. Views mean very little to me. It’s the likes and comments that have a more personal touch and make me feel as if what I did was good 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

