Blogging

Pros and Cons of Weekly Blogging Memes

 Pros and Cons of Weekly Blogging Memes

Blogging memes such as Top Ten Tuesday or Waiting on Wednesday have always been popular in the book blogging world. On those days, a ton of bloggers participate. As a newbie blogger, I joined in some as well, and enjoyed writing those posts. Until about a month ago, I posted them regularly. Now, I don’t post them at all.

You might be wondering, what’s a meme? It’s a weekly or monthly feature hosted by a certain blog in which other bloggers participate and talk about a certain theme or a certain book.

Why? I became bored. I dreaded writing those posts. Why post something if you hate writing it? I quit.

I began thinking of those posts as filler content. I felt like all my lists were the same. I skipped over others’ lists, because as YA bloggers, we like and are excited for a lot of the same books, so I felt like I was reading the same list over and over.

But they can be perfect! They are so fun to write, and I am in no way saying you are less of a blogger by posting them. The question is, are they for you?

Pros of Weekly Blogging Memes

1. They’re fun to write! As a list lover, at first I did enjoy writing ones such as Top Ten Tuesday.

2. You can get a lot of views on those posts because you link your post up on the creator’s website!

3. As a newbie blogger, they can be a great way to come up with post ideas and bring people to your blog.

4. When you’re stuck without a post idea before a day when a meme occurs, you can quickly write a post.

Cons of Weekly Blogging Memes

1. They can be filler content. They take less work than a regular blog post, and it can show.

2. All the lists start to look at least a little bit similar. Because we are mostly YA book bloggers, we read and are excited for a lot of the same books.

3. People may just skip over your list because they’ve seen so many already. I know that on days such as Tuesday or Wednesday, when popular memes happen, I avoid almost all the posts.

4. You can alienate non-bloggers! When the post topic isn’t just books and is something blogging related, it leaves out your reader followers.

5. You get a lot of comments like “Nice post! Check out my list.” They can get really annoying, and make you feel like no one cares about your actual list.

This is a kind of controversial topic, since so many bloggers love and post memes! I’m interested to hear your opinions, but please don’t be rude about it. This is just my opinion, and I tried to come up with ideas for each side.

What do you think of weekly blogging memes? Do you post them?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

18 thoughts on “Pros and Cons of Weekly Blogging Memes

  1. When I first started, I was doing more meme posts but I have since scaled down and only do TTT but again, I only do it when I want to or if the topic interests me. I still take a peek at other posts but it’s nothing that’s set in stone and I also don’t comment if I can’t leave meaningful ones. 😊

    My TTT is my filler post, actually but it is something that I love doing, but not something that I stress out over!

    Like

  2. I’ve slowly started to post less and less when it comes to memes. I started out regularly posting TTT’s and WoW’s and then I started to post TTT’s and only occasionally did WoW’s. Now I only do these memes when I feel like it. I’m sure the TTT posts have gotten me more traffic, since the Broke and the Bookish is a popular blog. Though, now I may drop TTT all together. You’re right, most of the lists have the same thing and I only skim the posts if I even bother to look at them. They definitely get boring after a few months…
    Great discussion topic, Ava! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve slowly started to post less and less when it comes to memes. I started out regularly posting TTT’s and WoW’s and then I started to post TTT’s and only occasionally did WoW’s. Now I only do these memes when I feel like it. I’m sure the TTT posts have gotten me more traffic, since the Broke and the Bookish is a popular blog. Though, now I may drop TTT all together. You’re right, most of the lists have the same thing and I only skim the posts if I even bother to look at them. They definitely get boring after a few months…
    Great discussion topic, Ava!

    Like

  4. I do agree with the points you showed, especially about people not really reading the memes but only skimming past them instead, because they’ve read so many lists. That’s why I try not to do the memes every week, but only once every month or so ☺️ I try to focus on more original content or memes I actually created myself specifically for my blog only.

    Like

  5. i think that every blogger should have something original in his/her blog. so despite the fact that weekly memes DID help me get an audience, i get quickly bored of them. for example, as you can see, i wrote two waiting on wednesdays, and now i’m just…bored of it. it doesn’t seem like…me. being the talkative person that i am, i find it boring to talk just about a book that i’m excited about in one little paragraph. to be honest, i’m seeing myself as a blogger who discusses and analyses YA books and all things related, not just talking about it. that’s why i decided to stop them. i don’t know if you understand me…
    i’m so sorry for this super long comment xD

    Like

  6. I don’t do any myself, but sometimes find them interesting. I tend to skip reading them though because there’s just so many of the same post, or perhaps I’ll open them just to skim over the answers so I don’t leave anyone out. Usually it’s just Tuesdays and Wednesdays that my feed is full of the same posts though.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yeah, I really noticed this with a couple of blogging memes – I wrote a post about it too, and I know that Joan @ Fiddler Blue and I are working together now to try to reduce the cons of blogging memes, by starting up a discussion meme. Hopefully, through that meme, we get less “Great list, check out my list!” comments, you know?
    Blogging memes have their pros and their cons – ultimately it’s up to the blogger to decide if they want to post blogging memes or not as a result! I know I do certain select ones, ones that interest me, like When I First Saw You, held by Sophie at Sailing Through Books, but I avoid others, just because I think they’re filler content too 🙂

    Like

  8. Oooh, this is an interesting post! I never thought about this post, but you’ve certainly picked my brain – in a good way, of course. 😊

    I personally don’t write meme posts anymore, but that’s mostly because I don’t have time to write them and would rather invest my time in reviews or discussion posts. I do agree that they’re a great way for new bloggers to get started! They definitely helped me become acquainted with the booking community and with other new bloggers.

    Though, I sometimes skip over them too. Sometimes I read them if I see a book cover I am familiar with, but I usually like reading book reviews. Dx But that’s just me!

    Great post, Ava!

    Like

  9. I personally don’t write them, it doesn’t stop me from reading them although on the 6th one and its pretty similar to all of the other I am more likely to skip past it. I don’t write them as like you said it is just filler content, most of the time, occasionally there is a really interesting subject that I would want to join the conversation in but it is very rare! Great post!

    Like

  10. I like reading those kind of posts because they can give me new ideas of books to read. I’m doing one of these memes which is called the Teaser Tuesday (you share a quote from the book you are currently reading) because I thought it would be fun to talk about the book I’m currently reading, and I really enjoy it so far! But I understand your thoughts on those posts, you don’t have to read them anyway 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

