Books

My Favorite Books of 2016 So Far

 My Favorite Books of 2016 So Far

Hello, April! I cannot believe it’s the fourth month of the year already, 2016 is passing so fast. In 2016, I’ve read a total of 24 books so far, so I’m five books ahead of schedule. Yay! I have read some amazing books this year (and some not so great ones, but that’s a topic for another post). So, I wanted to make a blog post talking about the books I’ve loved the most this year.

This list won’t be in order of favorite to least favorite, because it’s WAY too hard to decide. I’ll save THAT for the end of the year. Instead, I’ll just start with books read in January, then February, and so on.

My Favorite Books of January

The Night Circus by Erin MorgensternThe Night Circus

Rating: 4.5 stars

This book was incredible. You can read my review here. If you didn’t click on the link, just know that I absolutely adored this book.

The Serpent King by Jeff ZentnerThe Serpent King

Rating: 5 stars

Wow, wow, wow. One of my favorite books EVER, not only of this year. Click here to read my flailing review. Seriously, this book was incredible. I don’t read contemporaries very much, but I absolutely loved this one.

My Favorite Books of February

This Savage Song by Victoria SchwabThis Savage Song  (Monsters of Verity, #1)

Rating: 5 stars

Since this book hasn’t released yet,  I haven’t written a review, but one will come closer to release date. Victoria Schwab wrote another incredible, dark, fabulous book that I LOVED with all of my heart, and now am dying for the sequel.

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily SkrutskieThe Abyss Surrounds Us (The Abyss Surrounds Us, #1)

Rating: 4 stars

Okay, I just realized I hadn’t written a review for this book, and I have no clue why. I really enjoyed this book, and I can’t WAIT for the sequel. It has so many things in it that I loved (F/f romance! Pirates! Sea monsters!) which added up to an amazing story.

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. SchwabA Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2)

Rating: 5 stars

You can read my review here, but know that I ADORED THIS BOOK. I liked it even more than the first, and I loved loved loved the first. These characters and worlds are so dear to my heart now.

My Favorite Books of March

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani ChokshiThe Star-Touched Queen

Rating: 4 stars

This book was really beautiful. The writing was breathtakingly gorgeous, the talking horse was fabulous, and the Indian influence was amazing. I can’t wait till this book releases and everyone can read and enjoy it.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra ClareLady Midnight (The Dark Artifices #1)

Rating: 4 or 4.5 stars. I haven’t decided yet.

Cassandra Clare’s books keep improving! I enjoyed this book even more than The Mortal Instruments, but not more than The Infernal Devices (because I love those), and can’t wait for the next book to find out what happens to these amazing characters.

The Scorpio RacesThe Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating: 4 stars

I love Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle, but couldn’t even finish Shiver, so I was nervous to see how this book would be. It turned out to be amazing, and was enough Stiefvater to hold me off till The Raven King releases. I just loved the whole concept of this book, and with Maggie’s writing and intriguing characters it is done perfectly.

What are some of favorite books of 2016 so far? Have you read any of the books I’ve loved? What did you think? If you haven’t read them yet, do you want to?

Happy reading!

Ava

18 thoughts on “My Favorite Books of 2016 So Far

  1. I loooved The Night Circus and The Scorpio Races is such a beautifully written book, although not that amazing for me 😊 Seems like you had a great reading year so far!

    Like

      1. Yes, I’ve read basically everyting Maggie Stiefvater has written 😂 My favourite is definitely The Raven Cycle, really shows that her writing had evolved and gets better and better!

        Like

  2. I have read nothing from this list… I have The Night Circus on my shelf though, and it looks amazing! My copy of Lady Midnight is on its way, but I still have to read City of Lost Souls and City of Heavenly Fire 🙂
    Glad you loved these books! They all look amazing! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

