Blogging

Do You Listen To Music While Writing Blog Posts? + Music I’ve Been Loving Lately

Do You Listen To Music While Writing Blog Posts? + Music I’ve Been Loving Lately

So you may not know this about me, but I LOVE music. I don’t talk about it very much here, but it is such a huge part of my life. Not as big as books, of course, but you can almost always find me with headphones in.

And always, always, when I’m writing a blog post, you’ll find me listening to music. The song that’s playing RIGHT NOW is Hold Me Down by Halsey.

I started wondering: Was I the only one who listened to music when writing ANYTHING? So I decided to write a post about it!

Music helps me concentrate. I don’t like the silence, either, so music is there for me. But I’ve heard some people say it distracts them. I don’t understand how people write without it, but I’m sure people say the same thing about writing with it! It’s interesting.

I’ve also heard people say they can only listen to music without words while writing, and that helps them. I listen to this too while writing (Harry Potter soundtracks!), but it doesn’t make a difference if it has lyrics or not.

If I’m blogging, doing homework, writing, or ANYTHING where I need to focus, music helps me.

After you finish reading this post, comment and tell me if music helps or doesn’t help you write!

What’s my music taste like, you might ask?

Well, it’s a wide range of genres. That’s the best way to put it. I will listen to almost ANYTHING. Here’s what I’ve been loving lately.

First and foremost, I have to mention Hamilton.

hamilton musicals lin manuel miranda alexander hamilton hamilton musical

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that I am obsessed with it. If you have been living under a rock, Hamilton is a musical that is INCREDIBLE. And you can listen to it for free on Spotify! I highly, highly recommend you at least try it.

My lovely friend Hannah has a Spotify (find her at Hannah Siddiqui), and I’ve been loving her “Indie Pop Even Your Mom Can Jam To” playlist.

Seriously, it’s amazing. I listen to it constantly. If you like The 1975, Halsey, The Neighborhood, or Arctic Monkeys, check it out. It also has songs and bands I’d never heard of, and is a nice blend of everything I love. So even if you don’t like the aforementioned bands/artists, you should try it. I use this playlist for everything.

This brings me to my next obsession: Halsey.

fallontonight  tonight show nbc halsey

A while ago, when Badlands came out, I listened to it constantly. Now I’m finally re-listening and falling in love with it again. Her lyrics are just incredible. I love all the songs on Badlands, but I’m obsessed with Young God and Drive right now.

Another friend of mine, Viktoria, has an 8tracks. (Seelieknight)

I love all of her playlists SO MUCH, especially because she matches them with books or characters. If you like more folk/indie music, check it out. Here’s one of my favorite playlists.

Another music love of mine is… musicals.

This might not surprise you because of Hamilton, or it might because of the above music. I can belt out all of the lyrics to almost any Disney song, know every word of every song in Les Miserables or Grease…

Yes, my music taste is varied. But I just love (almost) everything, I can’t help it!

Do you listen to music while writing blog posts? What’s your taste in music like? What have you been loving lately? Do you like any of the same music I do?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

10 thoughts on “Do You Listen To Music While Writing Blog Posts? + Music I’ve Been Loving Lately

  1. OH MY GOODNESS. *flying tackle hug* our music tastes are so similar! Halsey is AMAZING and Grease, Live! blew me away. As for Hamilton…I will never be satisfied with only listening to one song at a time. I LOVE music, but I can’t write unless there is absolute silence or music without words. Anything from classical like Strauss (VOICES OF SPRING *heart eyes*) to musical instruments from all over the world, like the nyckelharpa. I play cello, so I listen to a lot of cello covers on YouTube. Nicholas Yee has an AMAZING cover of Young & Beautiful by Lana del Rey. My other love is classic rock–The Cars, the Beatles, Queen, etc. Lately, I’ve been obsessed with The 1975, especially The Sound and This Must Be My Dream. We’ll have to have a blogger jam-session!

    Like

  2. I have a hard time concentrating when there’s music around (even though I can try to read even if there’s music blasting everywhere around me, which is weird), so I don’t listen to music when I’m writing.

    But I do like listening to it while doing other things! Especially when I’m just surfing around the internet. I’m totally in love with Halsey too, and her Badlands album is just so addicting.❤️ Thanks for the playlist suggestions!

    Like

  3. This post came at the best time, I’ve finally grown tired of the song I usually have when writing blog posts so I needed to fine more – I’ll definitely be checking out the playlists! I love listening to music, you’re guaranteed to see me with my headphones in as well but sometimes when it’s just too good like Halsey and Hamilton (my obsessions!) I get distracted 😄 wonderful post!
    Enchanted by YA

    Like

  4. This is so interesting! I’ve heard loads of people say they have to have silence when they’re reading, but that’s totally not the case for me too. If I’m starting a new series, and I need to concentrate on the world building, I may listen to instrumentals (my favourite for this is i like it when you sleep for you are so beautiful yet so unaware of it by The 1975). At other times, I listen to horror punk, hardcore, alternative and sometimes indie too! I loved BADLANDS too. I really need to start listening to Hamilton, and check out Hannah’s playlist! 😀

    Like

  5. My answer would be: YES. I LISTEN TO MUSIC. EVERYTIME. I love silence but at the same time I love noise-especially loud music. I’ve been playing Hamilton everyday since last week and all I can say is I’m inlove!!

    Like

  6. Interesting post! 🙂 I can’t listen to music while reading or doing homework because it distracts me, but it actually helps me focus when I’m writing a blog post. 😄 Recently I’ve been listening to Bea Miller’s debut album Not An Apology. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

