Books

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Reasons I Love Reading

IMG_2453-1

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Reasons I Love Reading

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish

This week’s topic was a freebie, so I wanted to go back and do a topic I missed! The topic for June 7th was Top Ten Reasons I Love X, and I decided to do reading for my X. I’m going to be talking about ten reasons I love to read!

Obviously, I am an avid reader. You’re on this blog most likely because YOU love reading. We’re book-lovers together! There are countless reasons why I love curling up with a good book, but for today, I’m choosing only ten. (THE STRUGGLE. I COULD GO ON AND ON. But then this post would be miles long and take you years to read so I decided not to. You’re welcome.)

#1: I can be transported to other worlds and distracted from my reality

When I open a book, I can jump in a world entirely different from ours. If I’m having a bad day, I know that I can always pick up my book and be transported to another world. I can become completely separate from what might be going on in my life and feel FREE for an hour or two.

#2: I get to learn about people unlike myself and cultures unlike my own

Through reading, I’ve learned about so many people that are so different than me. I feel like I’ve learned so much and have a better understanding of the world around me and the people in it. Reading has opened my eyes to so many issues that I might not have seen otherwise.

#3: I get to go on fabulous adventures along with the characters

I will probably never go on a cross-country spur of the moment road trip. So I read about it instead! I will probably never go to a boarding school in Paris. So I read about it. Most likely, I will never travel to multiple Londons and use magic. So I read about it. It feels like I’ve been on those adventures with those characters, just because I read it.

#4: Magic, dragons, and fairies, oh my!

I get to see so many things while reading genres like fantasy that I will NEVER see in real life. How amazing would it be to fight OR ride dragons? How amazing would it be to discover that you were a wizard? These things will never happen to us in the real world, but we get to experience it in our books.

#5: It connects and unites me with other book-lovers

My enjoyment of reading has connected me with lots of people, in my real life and on here. I LOVE talking to people who say, “Hey, I like your shirt! I love Harry Potter too! What house are you in?” A simple conversation like that makes my day.

#6: It brought me to this community

I started a blog and bookstagram because of my love for reading. I’ve met so many incredible people, both in real life and online. I have experienced so many things I never would have otherwise.

#7: It’s entertaining

Reading is a great thing to do when you’re bored to pass time or if you have no wifi. I know you might be thinking, What on earth can I do without my phone? And my answer to you, my friend, is READ.

#8: It brings ALL THE FEELS.

Isn’t it AMAZING when a book-a collection of letters formed into words formed into sentences, etc- can make you cry? Or scream? Or laugh? Books can make you feel powerful things and influence and change you.

#9: It influences my vocabulary and makes me smarter

Come on. Don’t you LIKE knowing intelligent-sounding words? Don’t you LIKE how reading can help you do well in school? Don’t you like to be asked “How do I spell this world?” just because that person recognizes that you are a smart cookie? (Spoiler alert: I do. Maybe it’s just me.)

#10: It teaches me important lessons and information

And I’m not just talking about non-fiction! I’ve learned a lot of things from fiction as well: lessons and messages that I needed to know.

Why do YOU love reading? Are any of your reasons the same as mine?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Reasons I Love Reading

  1. You’ve basically hit all my reasons for liking to read, but I have to add that because I am a writer it improves my prose. Which is basically your vocabulary point but in written form.

    Like

  2. ALL THE REASONS!!!!! Also it reminds me that there are better and nixc4er people out there than the people I’m constantly surrounded by.

    Like

  3. Love your list! What I love most about reading is that it has made me a better person, I learn through the characters and their adventures. I’m able to understand people better just through reading! And I have to thank my parents for encouraging me to read!

    Like

Leave a Reply

