Books

Mid-Year Reading Check In!

Mid-Year Reading Check In!

A couple of days ago on Twitter, I asked everyone how their reading challenges for the year were going! I got a LOT of mixed responses, from “It’s going great, I’m 10 books ahead” to “I already beat it!” to “I’m 20 books behind, oops.” So I wanted to talk about how MY reading year was going!

Also: How is it JULY already. I just can’t believe how fast this year is going.

I set myself the challenge to read 75 books this year, and as of right now, I’ve read 55, so I’m ahead of schedule. Yay! I’m actually going to try to read 100 books now that I’m ahead. We’ll see how that goes.

I’ve only DNF-ed three books: Assassin’s Heart, And I Darken, and Three Dark Crowns. The funny thing is, these books were all ARCs, and fantasy. Huh. There seems to be a pattern…

Out of the 55 books I’ve read so far, there’s been a lot of mixed ratings. I’ve rated:

11 books 5 stars

27 books 4 stars

11 books 3 stars

2 books 2 stars

1 book 1 star

3 books unrated (my three DNFs)

And of course, that’s Goodreads ratings, so a lot of those are actually half stars. (Come on, Goodreads! I’m still waiting for you to add half star ratings as an option.)

Looking at those stats, I’ve had a pretty good reading year so far! A lot of books are four stars, which is great. And I’ve read a few new favorites! If you’d like to see what makes me rate a book 5 stars, you can check out this post. I’ve also read a lot of amazing 2016 releases, as you can see from this post.

Here are a few of my overall favorites this year: (If you click the link in the title, it’ll take you to my review. If you click on the image, you’ll go to the book’s Goodreads page!)

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2)

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2)

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

History Is All You Left Me

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic, #2)

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

This Savage Song  (Monsters of Verity, #1)

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Nevernight (The Nevernight Chronicle, #1)

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

The Serpent King

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Obviously, I’ve loved a lot more books than this, but these are just a few of my favorites. Check out my Goodreads to see all the books I’ve read and am currently reading!

Goodreads also says that the longest book I’ve read this year is The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson. While this book is HUGE, I loved it and rated it five stars!

If you’re wondering how I saw these stats, I just went to Goodreads>My books>Stats>2016. Check yours out, it’s really interesting!

I’ve been trying to read more LGBTQIAP+ books, and while I haven’t read as many as I would like, I have read a few ones I’d recommend! (If you click on the image, it’ll take you to the Goodreads page.)

The Abyss Surrounds Us (The Abyss Surrounds Us, #1)

The Abyss Surrounds Us by Emily Skrustkie

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, #1)

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

Under the Lights (Daylight Falls, #2)

Under the Lights by Dahlia Adler

History Is All You Left Me

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

When the Moon Was Ours

When The Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

You Know Me Well

You Know Me Well by David Levithan and Nina LaCour

Girl in Pieces

Girl In Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

The Song of Achilles

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

Symptoms of Being Human

Symptoms of Being Human by Jeff Garvin

Honestly, I think I’ve enjoyed almost every LGBTQIAP+ book I’ve read so far this year! (Except for one. We’ll talk about that one later.)

How is your reading year going so far? Are you ahead or behind or right on track with your Goodreads reading challenge? How many books have you DNF-ed this year, if any? What are a few of your favorites? Have you read any books that you want to recommend to me?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

18 thoughts on “Mid-Year Reading Check In!

  1. Ooh! I didn’t know that Girl in Pieces contains LGBT in it. I heard so many good things about this book and I’m going to read this book this month and also Nevernight, though I would end up getting very confused again.

    Like

  2. I’m behind by 4 books? I think. This year hasn’t been a good reading year so far for me. But I’m still optimistic that I can pick up the pace and keep going! My goal is 35 books ( it used to be 75 books but then I had to lower it) I’ve only read 14 books so far and that’s disappointing for me😔

    Like

      1. Yea the readathon is really motivating me to read. And I’m knocking down books pretty fast! I’m confidant that I’ll reach my goal this year

        Like

  3. Your reading progress has been great so far! Hope it continues that way for the rest of the year 😀 I’m really far ahead in my reading challenge on Goodreads, but my goal isn’t high so I was bound to be haha 😆 Quite a few of your favourites are the same as mine!

    Like

  4. The beginning of 2016 was very… slumpy for me. As in, I was in my worst case of a reading slump. *shudders* it was horrible. Luckily, somehow, I managed to banish it (*phew*) and I am now reading slowly but surely. Reading menas so much to me, so that reading slump really hit me hard.
    Anyway, I really liked your post. I gasped when you said you DNFed Three Dark Crowns because it’s actually one of my most anticipated books this year. I so hope to love it.
    Nevernight… I can’t wait for this book! I’m probably, just a little bit, way too obsessed with it (:
    I’m hoping to have great reading time in the second half of 2016. There are just *so* many amazing books coming out… (:

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

    1. Oh nooooooo I’m so glad it’s gone! I’ve definitely been in a few slumps before, but thankfully none that lasted TOO long. Three Dark Crowns was one of my most anticipated reads too, and I was SO SO SAD when I wasn’t a fan. I hope you enjoy it more than I did! I am sooooooo obsessed with Nevernight, I can’t WAIT till everyone can read it. And I feel ya on the books releasing thing…my wallet does too! 😉

      Like

  5. You’ve had a really good reading year so far, keep it up! I’ve read 32/50 books and I’m 7 ahead, so I should be able to achieve my goal. Although, I feel like this is my slowest year for reading at the minute. A lot of the things you’ve read have sparked my interest, so I’ll definitely be checking out some of the Goodreads pages. Glad you recommend The Song of Achilles because it’s such a beautiful book and I think everyone should read it.

    Charlotte @ Bookmarks and Blogging

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’m hoping to do even better than last year, but we’ll see. You’re doing great!! I’m sure you’ll beat your goal by a lot. Yay! I hope you decide to pick up some of the books I mentioned. And I completely agree about The Song of Achilles- I can’t believe it took me so long to pick it up!

      Like

  6. I was a littler conservative with my goal, so I extended it and now I’m 10 books behind. Oops! I’ll get there. My goal is 75 too! I just finished A Gathering Of Shadows and it was incredible! I’m so put out the last one doesn’t come out until forever.

    Like

      1. LiLa is just so exceptional. I want to be her best friend, or first mate. I don’t know how I’m supposed to console myself waiting for February.

        Like

Leave a Reply

