Books

Stab Stab Stab: Nevernight, One Of The Bloodiest But Best Books I’ve Ever Read

Stab Stab Stab: Nevernight, One Of The Bloodiest But Best Books I’ve Ever Read

Do you like bad*** assassins, a few sexy scenes, incredible writing, an interesting world, violence, and amazing characters?

Then Nevernight is for you. I cannot WAIT for everyone to be able to read this book. Jay Kristoff brings you an excellent adult fantasy with this first book in his new series. I loved (almost) every part of it, and here’s why:

Such a unique story and plot

We’ve seen the “boarding school” trope before. (Hogwarts, anyone?) We’ve also seen a LOT of assassin books. But Jay manages to make it different and interesting.

So violent

This book makes Throne of Glass (another assassin book) look like a children’s book. It was so, so violent. But I liked it.

Definitely adult fantasy, not YA

This is just a warning. I LOVED Nevernight, but was completely expecting a Young Adult novel, since I had just read Kristoff’s co-written books Gemina and Illuminae. This is NOT YA.

Amazingly complex, well-built world

This world is so DIFFERENT than other fantasies! To start with, there’s three suns. And only every two years, they’ll set, plunging the world into darkness. It’s so interesting. We learned about a few countries in this world during Nevernight, and they were explained clearly and all so very different from each other.

The Red Church: Assassins- that actually assassinate!

Mia goes to The Red Church to learn how to be a better assassin so she can get her revenge on the people that killed her father. And this is NOT a school for the weak. A killer is on the loose, people are dying, and it was so. freaking. scary. Also, I kept suspecting the wrong people. Nicely done, Jay.

Footnotes

While I loved the uniqueness of the footnotes, sometimes, they just got to be a little…much and actually distracted me from the story instead of enhancing it. I found myself skimming the long ones, wanting to get back to the exciting parts. Some were needed and very helpful in understanding the world, and some felt very unnecessary.

A cat that’s not a cat who talks

I like cats in books. I like cats who talk in books. When you take a cat (that’s actually not really a cat, but whatever) and make him talk sarcastically like Mr. Kindly does in this book, it is HILARIOUS.

Excellent writing

I’d never read a book written solely by Jay before, and I absolutely adored his writing style. Now, I want to pick up all his other books! I hope I love them as much as I did this one.

Slow start

As you may have seen in other reviews, Nevernight can take a bit to get into. I loved it, but others DNF-ed because of how slow it is. I recognized the slowness, but still enjoyed it, and after the first 70 pages or so I was fully engrossed in the story and just couldn’t put it down!

Very slight info-dumping at the beginning

As this is a high fantasy book, we need to get to know the world at the beginning of the story. And I think it was just a LITTLE too much at once.

A fabulous main character

Mia. I LOVED her. She was complicated and developed and grew as the story went along. Her thirst for revenge was explained and felt very realistic and was so, SO sad.

Wonderful side characters

All these people that Mia meets are so interesting and well-developed and I loved learning about them. I did not, however, love all of the side characters themselves, because they are brutal and bloodthirsty and sometimes just plain awful. But they were so fascinating.

Twists you never see coming

I couldn’t predict ANYTHING in this book. By the end of the book, I was frantically flipping pages to see what happened next, and everything that did took me completely by surprise.

A new, interesting power

Mia is darkin. I won’t spoil anything for you, but it is SUCH a cool power and I loved reading about it.

Religious aspect that I actually enjoyed

Normally, I don’t like books that have a religious aspect to them. I HATED Assassin’s Heart. But in this one, I loved learning about the gods they worshipped, especially the Lady of Blessed Murder.

OVERALL

I loved this book SO MUCH, and if you’re mature enough to handle it, I highly, highly recommend it.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Published August 9th 2016 by Thomas Dunne Books

Genres: Fantasy

Format: ARC

Source: Sent to me by publisher

Pages: 448

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

26114463

The first in a new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author.

In a land where three suns almost never set, a fledgling killer joins a school of assassins, seeking vengeance against the powers who destroyed her family.

Daughter of an executed traitor, Mia Corvere is barely able to escape her father’s failed rebellion with her life. Alone and friendless, she hides in a city built from the bones of a dead god, hunted by the Senate and her father’s former comrades. But her gift for speaking with the shadows leads her to the door of a retired killer, and a future she never imagined.

Now, Mia is apprenticed to the deadliest flock of assassins in the entire Republic—the Red Church. If she bests her fellow students in contests of steel, poison and the subtle arts, she’ll be inducted among the Blades of the Lady of Blessed Murder, and one step closer to the vengeance she desires. But a killer is loose within the Church’s halls, the bloody secrets of Mia’s past return to haunt her, and a plot to bring down the entire congregation is unfolding in the shadows she so loves.

Will she even survive to initiation, let alone have her revenge?

Have you read Nevernight yet? If so, what did you think? Did you love it as much as I did? If not, are you excited to read it? Are you going to buy it? (Yes. You should.)

Never flinch. Never fear. Never forget.

Ava

4 thoughts on “Stab Stab Stab: Nevernight, One Of The Bloodiest But Best Books I’ve Ever Read

  1. I’ve heard so, so many good things about this book and I’m very curious to read it myself. I’m currently being crushed by the weight of my immediate tbr – but I have every intention to read Nevernight in the future!

    And YES haha, I love that you pointed out that the Red Church actually assassinate. I feel like most assassin protagonists don’t do a lot of assassinating? I’d be very interested to see how the characters develop, particularly since they are assassins.

    Great review, Ava!

    Like

  2. I keep reading excellent reviews for this book and I CANNOT wait *o*
    Well written and developped side characters are one of my favourite things! And I think I’ll feel the same as you for the footnotes… But cannot wait to see that for myself! This will also be the first book by Jay that I read, loved Illuminae!

    Like

Leave a Reply

