Books

Stranger Things Book Tag!

Stranger Things Book Tag!

If you’ve seen my Twitter lately, you know I’ve been LOVING the recently created Netflix Originals TV show Stranger Things. When I was tagged by Nisha at A Running Commentary to do the Stranger Things Book Tag she created, I knew I had to do it soon! You can check her post out here.

Before I get into the tag, I just have to say: YOU NEED TO WATCH STRANGER THINGS. 

It’s incredible, really. And if you’re worried about the horror aspect of it, don’t be! While it can be creepy at times, I watched and loved it and I don’t watch anything even remotely scary.

1) The Vanishing of Will Byers

the first book in a series that left you intrigued and slightly confused

Hmm, for this one I’m going to have to go with…

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

While I adored this book the second time I read it, the first time was different. I liked it and wanted to read the second, but WAS “slightly confused”, as Nisha put it.

2) The Upside Down

a book with a setting you would never want to live in

Basically any dystopian or fantasy book ever. Too much killing. I would die instantly.

But especially…

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

EVERYONE IS BEING STABBED. Especially the good characters. *coughs* You know who I mean. I wouldn’t survive. While I pretend to be totally badass and read lots of fantasies (which basically are guides for how to survive in a world where lots of people die) I’m not and I wouldn’t. I’d be that character who trips on a piece of armor and accidentally impales themselves on their own sword and dies first, before the battle even starts. Oops.

3) Eleven

a book you own that is somewhat damaged, but loved to pieces

Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

My original paperback copies of Harry Potter are battered and torn, and I love it. I first read Harry Potter at around 6 or 7 so these books are OLD. Plus, I’ve reread those books too many times to count.  The spines are cracked, the covers are torn, the pages are ripped. Now, if I was to see a book like that, I would probably start to cry. But with those books, the only feeling I get is nostalgia. It’s HARRY POTTER.

4) Mike, Lucas, and Dustin

a trilogy you always go to whenever you need a pick-me-up

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

“What?!” You might be saying. “Ava, those books aren’t HAPPY.” And I know! But revisiting those characters and that story always makes me incredibly happy. I adored those books with all my heart and when I’m NOT reading them, I miss them.

5) The Demogorgon

a book with a terrifying beast you wouldn’t want to face in a dark alley

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

The zombies/infected people in this book are FREAKING SCARY ALRIGHT. I would definitely not like to meet them in a dark alley. Or in a brightly lit hallway of the Alexander or Hypatia. Really, I would never like to meet them. Ever. Like with Throne of Glass, if I was on that ship, I’d be the first to die.

6) Dr. Brenner

a book with a villain who is both manipulative and dedicated

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

Queen Levana is about as manipulative and dedicated as they come. I hate that woman SO MUCH. She does everything she can to find Cinder and her crew, and WHO IS MORE MANIPULATIVE THAN A WOMAN WHO HAS MIND CONTROL POWERS. Don’t get me started.

7) Nancy Wheeler

a book you didn’t expect to love

For this, I’m picking…

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

This is one of my favorite books of ALL TIME, but before picking it up, I was a little hesitant. It started with the title and cover. I don’t like snakes, and I pictured a western-adventure-type story, which I’m not very fond of (obviously, I hadn’t read the synopsis). And contemporaries can be hit or miss with me, so I wasn’t sure if I would like it. But then I obviously loved it, and now I can’t recommend it enough.

8) Hawkins, Indiana

a book with a setting that’s just a little bit strange

I’m agreeing with Nisha on this one and picking…

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

Henrietta, Virginia, where these books are set, is very, very strange. In fact, I wonder if Hawkins is on a ley line…

Kidding!

Mostly.

Andrew, Rebecca, Alex… You should all do this tag! If you haven’t been tagged already, I tag you. And anyone else who wants to do it, feel free!

Have you watched Stranger Things? What did you think? If not, do you plan on watching it? (Yes. You should.) Do you agree with any of my answers?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

6 thoughts on “Stranger Things Book Tag!

  1. I loved Stranger Things! I’m glad there’s a book tag; I don’t know why I’m surprised. 🙂

    I agree with you on a couple of these for sure, definitely Shadow and Bone. That was a weird one to start with, especially regarding my feelings for the Darkling. I was hoping he’d turn out to be a good guy, but then we saw how that went. 😦

    Like

  2. I love this post to death! I recently watched Stranger Things after I kept seeing it EVERYWHERE. I thought I would be terrified (I’m not a horror fan…) but I thought it was more sci-fi than anything. Definitely going to do this tag on my blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

