Books

Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 ALL TIME Favorite Contemporary Books

IMG_2453-1

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by the lovely people at The Broke and The Bookish

This week’s topic was top ten books in X genre, and I’m choosing to talk bout contemporary books! (Surprising, right?)

If you know me as a reader at all, you know: I read a ton of fantasy. It’s my favorite genre, in YA and Adult, and I just can’t get enough of it. I even did another Top Ten Tuesday on my favorite fantasy books a little while ago. But right now, I want to talk about my favorite contemporaries.

Yes, I actually DO read contemporary!

I promise, I do. I SWEAR.

Well then, as proof, I’ve come up with a list of ten (eleven) of my favorite contemporaries.

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

I’ve talked about this book kind of a lot, but not so much HERE on the blog as on Twitter- and that must change. I mean, really. I’ve never seen a negative review for this book. I loved it beyond words. Isn’t that all you need to know? 

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Oh, if you’ve never read this book: it’s the cute, fluffy, gay contemporary you’ve been searching for. I can’t recommend it enough. 

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

This book is beautiful and powerful and incredible. The writing and characters and story touch your heart and never, ever let go. I read this book a few years ago, and it’s still as amazing now as it was then. 

(I own three copies of this book: ARC, hardcover, and paperback. That doesn’t happen often, so what does that tell you?)

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

I’m addicted to Morgan Matson’s contemporaries. They’re fun and adorable and the PERFECT summer reads.  

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

This was probably one of the first contemporaries I ever read, and I loved it. I STILL love it. For me, it’s the best of that trilogy, and I loved it. 

To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

These books are the cutest. You fall in love with Lara Jean and her family, and it all feels so REAL. 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

I enjoyed David’s first book, but loved this one so, so much more. I think it’s best to go into it not knowing *that* much about the story, so just know: I recommend it. 

The Sun Is Also A Star by Nicola Yoon

I didn’t like Nicola’s first book, Everything Everything, so I was hesitant about starting this one. But do not worry! If you loved it, know that this one is as good. And if, like me, you DIDN’T: this one is so much better. 

History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

This book broke my heart, but out it back together. It’s one of the most honest portrayals of a (gay) character with OCD that I’ve ever read, and I think it’ll be really instrumental in teaching people what OCD really is like. It’s also a fantastic story. 

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

This book satisfied my dreams. Two romances that happen at a nerd convention. One of the two main characters is bisexual and Asian, the other is autistic and fat. I loved it so, so much. 

Okay, fine. *pouts* This was harder than I thought it would be.

I CAN HEAR YOUR I TOLD YOU SO-S. I DON’T WANT THEM.

I even listed one MORE than ten, okay? I do enjoy contemporaries. 🙂 

What are some of your favorite contemporaries? Are any of them the same as mine? Do you have any recommendations for me? Unlike me, is contemporary YOUR favorite genre?

*hugs*

Ava

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 ALL TIME Favorite Contemporary Books

  1. I’ve read The Sun Is Also a Star a couple of weeks ago and was kind of bummed. Everyone loved the book so much but I had this meh feeling.
    Also, had The Serpent King on my TBR for, like, forever. Time to put my hands on it!

    Like

  2. I love so many of these! Contemporary is actually probably one of my favourite genres which admittedly, I don’t hear very often. My favourite is definitely I’ll Give You The Sun. I adore how it was written, it is so beautiful. I loved how everything tied in so well together.

    Like

  3. Contemporary is not my favourite genre but I like to read them from time to time. I also feel like they read much faster than the fantasy books that I usually read. So for a fast and nice read I like to pick one up. My favourite would be Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (cliche, I know!) and Alice Oseman is beginning to be one of my favourite contemporary author as well!
    Your list is great *_* I’ll be sure to read them all, even if it takes a while!

    Like

  4. I’ll Give You the Sun and Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda are two of my favorite contemporaries as well, so I am so glad to see them on your list. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    Like

  5. Definitely agree with you about Simon, Anna and I’ll Give You The Sun. They’re amazing! I haven’t read a lot of the others. Can’t wait to get my hands on History Is All You Left Me, though :).

    Like

  6. I’m so embarrassed! I haven’t read a single one of those books, and I haven’t heard of most of them! What defines a book as Contemporary? Where do you recommend I start in introducing myself to this genre?

    Like

  7. I’m also more of a fantasy reader but I’ve read a couple of these! I’m really interested in Kids of Appetite because I’ve heard SUCH good reviews. Great list!!

    My TTT

    Like

  8. Eeep, contemporary is not my favourite genre either.😂 Although I still do find a ton of books I love! LIKE YES AND YES TO I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN.😍 That book was ridiculously beautiful. OH and Simon VS. ❤ So so adorable. I'm reading To All the Boys right now eeep (yes how slow am I to catch up with these things?!) Also that's really encouraging about Nicole Yoon's new book, because I was so annoyed with Everything Everything that I was considering skipping her next book. But now I'll definitely give it a chance! (Also that cover amirite?!😍)
    Here’s my TTT!

    Like

  9. I recently read PS I like you by Kasie West, and I absolutely loved it! I would definitely recommend it for when you want to read a light contemporary. (Also Anna and the French Kiss is the best ♥)

    Like

Leave a Reply

