Books

How to Get Over a Book Hangover

I’ve done a post on how to get out of a reading slump before, but that was a long, long time ago. As reading slumps and book hangovers are two related, but different, things, I thought I’d do another concerning this topic!

So. What is a book hangover?

A book hangover is a condition in which attachment to a book or series that has ended causes the reader traumatic emotional distress. It usually lasts for one to two weeks, or until a new book of higher-than-average quality enters the reader’s life.

(Taken from the Epic Reads blog)

It is as awful as it sounds, and most book lovers have experienced it. Including myself. I’ve experienced it a LOT. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. Book hangovers are, for me, more difficult to get out of than regular book slumps, because with a slump, you just have to find a book that you like enough to read. With a book hangover, you have to find a book that is not only as good, but better, than the one you read before.

Without further ado, let’s get into my tips to getting out of a book hangover:

write a review of the book

This is what I personally do and it helps me the most! I immediately write SOMETHING on Goodreads, even if it’s just a few sentences. Then, a day or so later, when the hangover is really sinking in, I can go back and write about my feelings to try to let them out. It really, really helps, I promise.

discuss the book with someone else

Twitter/Goodreads/Instagram/etc is PERFECT for this. If no one that you know in real life has read the book you’re currently flailing over, why not talk about it with one of your bookish friends? And if you’re new to this community, know that I am always here to flail with you. 🙂 I know that I will always text my best friends Alex or Erika if they’ve read a book I just finished.

read fanfiction with the characters/world of the book

Chances are, if the book is popular/has been around long enough, there will be fanfiction on it. If you’re scoffing and looking down at fanfiction, well. That’s disappointing. I’ve read some great fanfiction short stories that have helped me get over a book hangover after finishing an incredible book.

find fanart/edits/graphics/playlists etc. for the book

Tumblr is AMAZING for this. There are beautiful, beautiful things there that you can find to help you with your book hangover. People also make playlists for their favorite books that you can find everywhere, and that could help too!

read the author’s other books, or similar books in the same genre

If you read and love a book like V.E. Schwab’s Vicious, she has lots of other books to read after! A lot of authors have multiple books, and if there isn’t a sequel to the one you just read, why not start the author’s other book? And if the book is a debut, try another book like it.

read a completely different book!

I know this piece of advice goes completely against my previous tip, but if those don’t work, don’t try to force it. If you just finished a heavy fantasy, try a lighthearted, fluffy contemporary! That might do the trick for you.

reread that book, or if it’s a series, the previous books

If nothing is working for you, why not just reread the book? You’re in charge of your reading life! #YOLO! (I can’t believe I just said that. Never let me write or say that again.)

What’s a book that has given you a book hangover? How did you get out of it? Do you have any tips for getting out of those dreaded book hangovers? Do you think these tips will help you in the future?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

20 thoughts on “How to Get Over a Book Hangover

  1. I think the last book hangover I had was after finishing ACOMAF, and the only way I could cope with that was by re-reading it again which I almost never do. Before that, when I had caught up with the Throne of Glass series the only thing that helped was fanfiction. I was actually really surprised because I’d never read fanfiction before because I’d just never felt the need to, but just after finishing Queen of Shadows I desperately needed to be back in the world with a new story.

    As always, I LOVE this post Ava 🙂

    Zoe @ Readabilitea

    Like

  2. I can’t remember my last hangover book. I switch genres a lot to stave off hangovers though. I would probably have them even more if I didn’t do that. This is great advice, thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. I love your tip on fanfic and fan art/playlists! I don’t do either of those but I can see how they’d work. For fanfiction, I actually don’t know where to find that kind of thing. Do you have any recs for sites?

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

  4. Gah book hangovers are the worst in my opinion! Some of these tips i already use but i will definitely be picking up a few like writing a review straight after! I’ll often sped time taking photos of a book for Instagram or finding merchandise for it as well if i have a hangover from it. After i read ACOMAF i tried doing other things but i ended up rereading it because i couldn’t get it out of my head!

    Like

      1. Thank you so much!! Currently i’ve worked my way out of one with Six of Crows which i’m super happy about!! xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

