Books

Happy Thanksgiving! + Books and People For Which I’m Grateful

Last year, (Woah. I can’t believe I can say that), I published a post titled the same as this one, and I’m bringing it back! It’s so odd looking back on old posts and seeing how this blog and my writing have changed. If you’d like to check that post out to see, here it is.

It’s Thanksgiving for me today, as an American, and I have so, so many things I’m thankful for, so I’m dividing this post up into two categories: PEOPLE and BOOKS.

People I’m Grateful For

My family

Of course, this has to start out as #1 on my list. To my family, who may or may not be reading this post: I love you, and I couldn’t not include you.

My in-real-life friends

You guys are fabulous and somehow manage to keep loving me despite my quirks, just like I do for you.

My bookish friends

Even more fabulous than my irl friends (sorry!) , the friends I’ve made through here are so wonderful.  To everyone that I talk to continuously on Twitter, Instagram, texts, etc, I am so thankful for you everyday. You accept me and love me for who I am and are always there for me, whether it’s in serious or hilarious moments and conversations, and I love you for that.

Alex from Fiery Reads

My partner-in-crime, my darling, my writing buddy, my blogiversary buddy, the person I trust the most for book recommendations, my BEA16 buddy… Oh, Alex. I adore you. If I listed all the reasons why, this post would go on forever.

Erika from Books With Cats

My longest Snapchat streak is with you for a REASON. I love you so much, and you are truly one of my best friends, ever. You don’t know how happy I am that you made a blog, and someday, WE WILL MEET. I can’t imagine not talking to you everyday.

Authors

You write the books that my life revolves around, and I can’t thank you enough for that. Those books make me feel welcome and important and like I MATTER, and that’s the best feeling in the world. Talking to you, whether in person or through the Internet, is such a privilege.

My lovely blog followers and readers

This blog wouldn’t exist if no one saw it. THANK YOU for the comments, the messages, the likes, and most of all: for actually reading what I write. It would be pointless to write posts for no one. I do it because I love it, and interacting with you makes it all worth it.

Books I’m Grateful For

Simon VS the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

I can’t talk about this book enough, honestly. It’s probably my favorite contemporary book ever. Warning: It WILL make you have a sudden craving for Oreos while reading. Keep some on hand if you pick it up.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

How could I NOT include HP on this? It’s what changed my reading life and started to get me into the very beginnings of YA.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

This book was the first book I ever read with an LGBTQIAP+ romance and character, as well as the most beautiful writing I’ve ever seen. I can’t recommend it enough.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

My favorite book of all time. That’s all I have to say.

The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

This book is so empowering and feminist and wonderful. It’s also the the first poetry book I read, and I loved it.

Obviously, I highly recommend all of the above books. You should check them out if you haven’t already. Don’t you trust my taste?

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope your day is wonderful, and you spend it with your loved ones. What books and people are you grateful for?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

11 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving! + Books and People For Which I’m Grateful

  1. I’ll Give You the Sun is such a great book! I listened to the audio book on a road trip once and it was fantastic. I love how they had different narrators for the two main characters ❤ Happy Thanksgiving!!

    Like

  2. It’s so great being able to look and see what you’re most thankful for. I’ll give you the sun is certainly a book that tops my thankful list. I’m currently reading Cursed Child so I’m pretty thankful that I’m able to go back and read a new Harry Potter 🙂

    Like

      1. I’m a little unsure about it. Despite starting it last year I still haven’t finished it. It’s different than what I expected. Not sure if that’s good or bad….

        Like

  3. I NEED TO READ I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN AHH. I really hope I’ll get into it soon!
    All the books mentioned here are so so good (except for I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN and THE PRINCESS SAVES HERSELF IN THIS ONE which I haven’t read yet).
    I’m so happy for you, Ava, for what you and your blog have grown to become. I really really love you (and your blog), and you always come up with great posts, ideas and recommendations. Here’s to another great year! ❤️

    Like

    1. Maha, I’m so thankful for YOU. You and your comments always bring a smile to my face!! I can’t believe you haven’t read I’ll Give You The Sun… DO IT, NOW. One of my favorite queer books ever- and one of my favorites in general. Ack, read PRINCESS too!!! Hopefully in 2017 you will… I’ll be so happy if you do… *winks* Thank you so much for your kind words. <333 I'm hoping all good things for your 2017!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

