Blogging · Writing

Looking Back On Goals of 2016 + 2017 Blogging, Reading, and Writing Goals

To start off this post, I want to look back at this post I wrote last year that talked about my blogging goals for 2016! Let’s see how I did. I honestly do not even remember what I wrote down, so I may have done horribly. I did not consciously focus on achieving these goals throughout 2016, which is not a completely negative thing. I blogged when I wanted to and had fun with it.

My goals for 2016 were:

1. Keep blogging all year

Well. I’m still blogging now, so I guess that’s something, but I know I did take a few unexpected hiatuses- life got so much crazier than I could’ve expected. I’m not sure if I can count this one as achieved or not.

2. Make more blogging friends

I talked to and met so many people this year, so I would count this one as accomplished!

3. Learn HTML and coding

…Nope.

4. Post better blog content

I would hope so! I feel like my posts have definitely improved from a year ago.

5. Be more organized

Hmm. Not really.

6. Think about self-hosting

I *thought* about it… but nothing really happened.

7. Comment more

Not really, sadly.

8. Get my NetGalley percentage to 80% AND request less books on NetGalley and Edelweiss

As of right now, it’s at 90%, so I’d count that as a win. And I definitely requested less e-galleys this year.

9. Read 100 books

I read exactly 100 books in 2016, so this one is a YES.

10. Stick to a book buying ban

Well…Not really. Oops.

11. Continue to bookstagram

This one has not been accomplished, sadly: I’ve been in a photography-taking rut this whole year, but hopefully in 2017 I can make a comeback.

12. Follower goals

My goal for last year was to have 300 WordPress followers, 100 Bloglovin followers, 1000 Twitter followers, and 10,000 Instagram followers.

I can now say that I have:

675 WordPress followers

161 Bloglovin’ followers

2,535 Twitter followers

9,011 Instagram followers

So, I met almost all of those!

Taking those goals as a whole, I did not do so well. 6/12? Not that great.

But that isn’t what truly matters. I had such a fun year blogging, and hope that 2017 will be the same, regardless of the number of goals I meet or followers I have.

Now onto goals I’m setting for myself for this upcoming year: Some of them will be the same as last years, and some will be new!

1. Keep blogging all year

This is one goal that is the same as last year, because I adore blogging, and couldn’t imagine stopping. It’s something that I look forward to when things like school are overwhelming, and I hope it will continue to be throughout 2017 and the years that follow.

2. Be more organized

Last month, I bought an inexpensive but cute planner from Ross and am using it specifically to be more organized in my blogging endeavors. Right now, I already have posts through February planned, and I definitely believe it will help me keep posting consistently and improve my content.

3. Respond to more comments

When I wasn’t blogging consistently these past few months, I just…stopped responding to comments on my posts. I felt absolutely terrible about it. Every time I visited my blog, I would get anxious and sad. I need to get back in the habit of responding to every comment I receive, because your comments mean the world to me, and the very least I can do is have a conversation regarding the topic of the post.

4. Post twice a week

In my time blogging, I tried to post every other day. It worked for a while, and then it just became too much. I would be stressed when it didn’t happen, the posts would not be of the quality I wanted, and I just wasn’t proud of my blog. For this next year, I want to try and post twice a week, but if that doesn’t happen, it’s not the end of the world.

5. Read 60 books

Last year, my goal was to read 100 books, and I barely reached that, truly struggling with it in the last 10 days of December. I did reach it, but only after… a lot of reading in a short amount of time. I think it’ll be difficult this upcoming year to do that again with school and life, so I’m setting it for 60. I know I’ll read more than that, but this way I won’t be stressed about it. We will see how I do!

6. At least half of the books I read this year should be diverse

Since I’ve started reading more diversely and love it and am participating in #DiversityBingo2017, a lot of the books I read will be diverse. Besides the 36 books I plan to read for the challenge, I want half of the total number of books I read in 2017 to be diverse. If this year is anything like last year, I’ll be reading around 100 books, and I’m excited to discover incredible diverse reads!

7. Get back into bookstagramming

My bookstagram account… halted in 2016. I barely posted, I had no motivation, and all I could do whenever I opened the app was compare my account to others. This next year, I’m hoping to change that and make my account into a place-like this blog-that I enjoy posting on and being in the community of.

8. Finish writing my novel

As you may know, I participated in NaNoWriMo this year, and wrote 50,000 words of a novel that I wholeheartedly love. Since then…I haven’t touched it. In 2017, I want to finish it. Beyond that, I know I want to have people beta read it, and then maybe get started on the long, long road to publication.

9. Participate in NaNoWriMo again

I loved NaNo this year, and it really motivated me to actually write after not doing it much for the months previously. I’m hoping it’ll do the same for me this year, although I’m not sure what project I’ll be working on yet!

10. Improve my blog content

This will always be a goal of mine. Why would I continue blogging if I didn’t always strive to have better content for those that follow me? There is no point if don’t feel like I’m improving, because I enjoy looking back on what has changed and what I would like to change in the future.

11 (Bonus!): Follower goals

Like I mentioned in my previous post, follower counts are not all that matter to me, but if I’m being honest, they do matter a little. It’s nice to see your hard work being appreciated by more and more people, and I like to see the progress I make over the years, so that is why I set them.

I also like to be transparent with you guys, which is why I mentioned how many followers I have above. I don’t have as many followers as big book bloggers. That’s okay! But I also don’t know how many followers said big book bloggers have- and maybe those bloggers don’t think of themselves as that title, and have others they look up to! Success in book blogging is all relative and personal, and I share my follower counts because of that. I don’t think I’m a ‘big book blogger’, but, I don’t know, maybe some of my followers do! It all depends on the person and what they think success is.

So, by the end of 2017, it would be amazing to have:

1,000 WordPress followers

300 Bloglovin’ followers

4,000 Twitter followers

12,000 Instagram followers

If I don’t reach these follower goals, who cares? That’s a flippant way to put it, but these are not life or death, and in the scheme of all the things I want to achieve with my blogging, it is not very important.

That goes for all of these goals, really. While I’d like to achieve them and am going to do my best to stick with them, I know that when 2017 ends, I won’t be too hard on myself if I don’t do so well.

What are your blogging, reading, or writing goals for 2017? If you created goals for last year, how did you do? Let’s discuss what your plans and motivations for this year are!

I hope you have a wonderful 2017, and as always, thanks for reading!

Ava

19 thoughts on “Looking Back On Goals of 2016 + 2017 Blogging, Reading, and Writing Goals

  1. I’d love to read a post on how you attack growing your following. It’s something I need to put real effort into this year. I’m focusing on getting to posting just once a week in the first half of the year and then move on to more by the end. I read a lot, but I don’t usually post reviews of things I didn’t like all that much. It’s probably something I should get over.

    Like

  2. Well, I for one, think you should be incredibly proud of yourself! You accomplished SO much last year even though you didn’t hit all your goals! <33 One of my goals was also to consider self-hosting and of course I totally forgot. I have a few follower goals as welll but they're not all that concrete because that will make blogging less fun. I also want to write a book or two and do some editing this year. As for reading goals, I'm hoping to read 125 books and for most, if not all of those books, to be diverse. I think I can make sure at least half of them are own voices books but not sure yet.

    Like

  3. I had the same problem with my bookstagram acc, but maybe as you I can go back to it!
    https://perfectioninbooks.wordpress.com/2017/01/01/2017-resolutions-and-goals-that-i-hope-i-actually-get-to-accomplish/ This is my post about my goals and some of them include reading 50 books, at least one non-fiction, keep reading classics, Those are some of my reading goals. For blogging goals I want to blog in Spanish and English, and I would love to find a ‘style’ for my banners and thumbnails.
    Good luck with your goals!

    Like

  4. happy new year, ava! here’s to another great year!
    i’m SO happy you achieved your goals for 2016! i can definitely agree with the fact that your posts improved so much. they got even better than they already were (and longer, which is a good thing because i love long posts, you want my personal opinion). i’m also happy you’re trying to get back on bookstagram, i missed you so much!
    AND i’m participating in DIVERSITY BINGO 2017! i REALLY hope i’ll be reading more diverse books this year. i mean, the characters are so different from one to another when there’s diversity, and it’s so cool.
    ANYWAYS, happy new year, and i hope you’ll achieve all your goals for 2017! 💕

    Like

  5. These are all great goals! Bookstagram is definitely hard to keep up with, I fail quite often. And reading more diverse books is on my list of goals as well. Also, congrats on so many followers! That’s so awesome!

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Like

  6. Great post Ava, I’ve never thought about having follower goals before, it’s too hard to control. I really hope you reach all of yours! My goals for this year are to publish my book, finish writing another, read 50 books and lower my TBR! I also plan to read more diversely in general, so I’m prioritising those from the books I already own!

    I hope you have a great year!

    Like

  7. Ha, I have a goal to read 200 books this year after reading 163 last year, and I’m hoping I do well on that! I have no follower counts I want to reach because I just started my blog a couple of weeks ago, so it’s more like whatever happens, happens! I’d love to start a bookstagram account and write better reviews though! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

