Blogging

The Book Blogger’s Guide To NetGalley

When I first started blogging, the word “NetGalley” was thrown around constantly. I was confused. What was it? I’m here today to make a (hopefully) comprehensive post all about NetGalley and what book bloggers can use it for.

NetGalley: a service to promote titles to professional readers of influence. If you are a reviewer, blogger, journalist, librarian, bookseller, educator, or in the media, you can use NetGalley for FREE to request, read and provide feedback about forthcoming titles. Your feedback and recommendations are essential to publishers and readers alike.

I also saw the word “e-ARC”. I didn’t understand it at all. Was this a new language? No, this is just terminology that book bloggers use.

e-ARC: digital version of an Advanced Reader’s Copy

As a book blogger, you can create a NetGalley account to request e-ARCs and have them sent to your Kindle/Phone/etc. If you are a newer book blogger or blogger with lower stats, I would definitely recommend you do this before physical ARCs from publishers! It’s a lot easier to get accepted on NetGalley. If you do want to try for physical ARCs, I wrote a post a while ago about that, and here it is.

NetGalley can be confusing and overwhelming at first, so I’m here to help. Even after I found out what exactly it is, I didn’t know how to use it or what I was supposed to do. I saw books, books, and more books, and had no clue what I was doing. I want to make sure that doesn’t happen for you, so here are the most important things to keep in mind!

1) Don’t request if you don’t have a platform!

NetGalley is for people in the industry. While regular readers are wonderful, don’t get me wrong, that’s not who publishers are looking for! You simply won’t be accepted, so just bide your time until the book releases. I promise, it won’t be too long. If you do review on Goodreads or Amazon but don’t have a blog, you should select that! You can still get e-ARCs. It’s only if you are not in this industry at all that you cannot request.

2) Make sure to put yourself in the correct category.

Bloggers are reviewers on NetGalley. That’s where we belong. When signing up for an account, be sure you’re including yourself where you belong! It’ll be easier to get requested if you’re in the category you fit into.

3) Link your Kindle email address to NetGalley.

Without this or a similar app, you won’t be able to read the books you’re accepted for! If you just download the Kindle app, you can send it directly there. There are more detailed instructions here.

4) Include all your links as well as a photo.

If you have a blog/Instagram/YouTube or a combination of the three, be sure to link all of them! Put the one you are most active on or the one you have the most followers on under ‘My Primary Site’ part. You are also a real person: Make it look like it! Put a profile picture in there.

5) Write a bio that makes publishers want to approve you.

It’s like you’re selling yourself and your blog. You want publishers to look at your bio and think I want to send a book to that person. It’s a good idea to include your stats, as well as the places you review (your blog, Goodreads, Amazon, Instagram, etc..).

6) Set up your preferences with genres you like.

You can choose the genres you read most under ‘Reading Preferences’ tab. Publishers will see those and be more likely to send you books if they’re in your most liked genres!

7) Don’t request all the books!

Once you’re all set up on NetGalley and can see all the titles, you may click *request request request* for a lot of books, and then… get approved for many of them. It does happen! Then you are overwhelmed with a lot of books to read, and it can make it stressful and ruin your NetGalley experience, as well as lowering your feedback ratio, which I will talk about in a moment. Try and request the books you’re really excited for or know you will read soon.

8) Have a high feedback ratio and don’t forget to send feedback.

Once you start receiving e-ARCs, publishers look for your feedback ratio, which is:

Found in your Profile, the Feedback Ratio calculates the percentage of feedback to approved titles (this includes Read Now titles, Invites, and Wishes Granted). Publishers and authors rely on your feedback, and are more likely to approve members who provide meaningful feedback and recommendations about their titles.


Our suggestion is to keep your Feedback ratio close to 80%, meaning that for every 10 titles you are approved to read, you provide feedback for 8 titles. Feedback can be an opinion, note to the publisher/author, a review, or information about how you will promote the title.

NetGalley says to try and keep it around 80%, but it looks even better if it’s higher! Once you do read a book, make sure to send the feedback: It will make it more likely to get approved by that publisher again as well as raise your feedback ratio.

I hope these tips helped clarify NetGalley for you! If you have any more questions, feel free to leave them below, and I’ll try and help you out. NetGalley shouldn’t be so confusing!

Have you ever been confused by NetGalley? Were you confused when you first started blogging? Do you request books on NetGalley, or do you plan to? What are your tips for other bloggers for getting approved?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

14 thoughts on “The Book Blogger’s Guide To NetGalley

  1. I’d heard about NetGalley before but I never knew what it was all about, so your tipps are great for when I eventually try using it! Do you need a certain amount of traffic to be accepted by publishers? I’m a fairly new blogger and haven’t gotten that much traffic yet.

    Like

  2. I love Netgalley. I tend to request all the books and my feedback ratio is super low, I’m trying to fix that now. Do you use Edelweiss?If you do, could you post something like this for it? I haven’t even been able to sign up because I’m super confused by the registration form.

    Like

  3. I’ve never heard of this! It sounds SO great. Knowing myself though I’d probably not request a lot anyway, and this was so helpful, thank you! Do we need to have a Kindle account? Does the iBooks app suffice, if I don’t have a Kindle?

    Like

  4. I was so fascinated with NetGalley as a new blogger.I used to be in awe of reviewers who mentioned that they got the ARCs from the publishers through NetGalley and then I got on the site and requested like 30 books expecting to be rejected.That was a rookie mistake so I can totally relate with your point number 7.Great post!

    Like

  5. This is a great post thank you! I was so confused by “approval rating” and didn’t know what it was. I made the mistake of requesting everything so now I have lots read. Luckily each has a different release month so I have time. Thanks for an informative post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

