Books

Do You Read Outside Of YA?

As you probably know from this blog, I read Young Adult literature. I love YA. And if I’m being honest, it’s 99.999% of what I read. (That is an accurate statistic.) Sometimes, I read a middle grade or adult novel, or a poetry book, but truly, it’s almost all YA.

But I do read outside of YA at times. Here’s why.

Reasons why I read outside of YA

YA can get too repetitive or cliché.

I know that’s not much- I truly adore YA. Even with that one negative, there are so many books in YA that I can always find something different. Because I can’t just not mention why I read mostly YA and you should too:

Reasons why I read a lot of YA

YA is diverse.

The characters in YA books are my age and relatable.

YA is fun and exciting and new, and books are always releasing.

To prove that I am not lying to you and that I do sometimes read books that are not YA, here are a few of my favorite books outside of the age range of Young Adult.

My Favorite Non-Ya Books

Adult

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Middle Grade

Percy Jackson and the Olympians by Rick Riordan

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Poetry

The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

I’m realizing now that these lists are kind of small…Well, that shows that maybe I should explore outside of YA more often!

I know that reading mostly YA is not the case for a lot of people, so I started wondering what everyone else does.

I asked a few of my reader/blogger friends whether they read outside of YA, and this is what they said!

i read outside of YA because i have a constant need to devour stories. whether it be adult or nonfiction, i’m always looking for interesting narratives that tell a story in a new and exciting way.

-Alex, Fiery Reads

I read outside YA for the same reasons adults read YA. I simply seek good stories, despite genre. If there’s a good story that appeals to me, I’ll read it, no matter what genre! I also read a lot of non-fiction on topics that are of interest to me. I tend to treat books as simply just that book, not as part of the whole genre. I do read mostly YA, but if an adult book appeals to me, I’ll read it!

-Deanna, Deannareads

Honestly, I stick within my comfort zone – YA. I don’t often read a book that isn’t YA, but I’ve read a few non-YA books. For example, A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab, which is an adult novel, or Percy Jackson which is more middle grade. I read books that aren’t YA sometimes because it gives me a break from some things that are in most YA books like tropes or clichés. Middle grade often gives me a break from all the romance that is in basically every single YA book. A break from romance for me, is very needed. I’ll read adult books because they sometimes have darker topics, they’re more in depth, and the writing style is usually a lot more complex and interesting. YA is definitely my favourite, but I do love giving myself a break from it sometimes.

-Erika, Books With Cats

Do you read outside of YA? What age range do you normally read from? Why? Do you have any recommendations of middle grade, adult, non-fiction, poetry, etc. books?

Thanks for reading!

Ava

30 thoughts on “Do You Read Outside Of YA?

  1. I never quite got into YA, not for any particular reason, it just sort of passed me by. I read a very mixed variety. I tend to pick a book up and if the blurb interests me, I read it. Besides, mainly reading fantasy, even when young, I never focused on genre.

    I’ve read a few YA in more recent years and enjoyed some, but I’m older than the characters so I find it difficult to connect to them. And like you said, they are tropes/cliches that pop up, some people will love these, (cliches are popular for a reason, right?) Unfortunately, they’re ones that I don’t like.

    Awesome post!

    Like

  2. I always only read YA, but I’m getting older. I find that I can’t relate as much with the characters and the love interest sometimes make me just roll my eyes. I also agree that it can become really repetitive. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve confused one book for another because they were so similar. I still love YA, though. It’s still almost exclusively what I read. But I am trying to branch out a bit more and I find that I’m enjoying it. Lately I’ve been reading more classics, adult fantasy, women’s fiction, and memoirs.

    Molly @ Molly’s Book Nook

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I tend to read mostly YA since those are the kind of books I usually gravitate towards, but I’ll occasionally pick up a middle grade or adult novel if my friends highly recommend a book.

    Like

  4. “YA” didn’t really existed when I was younger (and especially in France), meaning that books where in the section for children or for adults, no in between! So I very quickly started reading adult books! My favourite right now are Hollow World by Michael J. Sullivan, The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet by Becky Chambers, Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach, The Stormlight Archive by Brandon Sanderson, Robin Hobb’s Realm of the Elderlings series (it kinda starts as YA but the MC grows up during the series!) and… I should stop now but many more x’)
    Great post! 🙂

    Like

  5. I read mostly YA but I have read my fair share of adult books and some middle grade. I read a lot of adult mystery/thriller books. I love reading any book that has been written by James Patterson. My favorite is his Women Murder Club series. I also love Jodi Picoult. My favorite of hers is My Sister’s Keeper. I’ve read Game of Thrones but I haven’t finished the series, I will eventually though. I’ve read poetry by Edgar Allen Poe and his short stories. My favorite has got to be Tell-Tale Heart, The Raven, A Valentine, and A Cask of Amontillado. I’ve read a book called The Wheel of Darkness which I completely recommend. Its apart of a standalone series. For middle grade, I’ve read almost all of Rick Riordan’s books, the first two books of School for Good and Evil, a standalone called Darkwood, and other ones that aren’t coming to my mind at the moment. So I’m proud to say that my taste are pretty diverse but again YA is my go to genre!

    Like

  6. I mostly read YA, but I’ll read Adult if the book sounds like it’s super messed up– like Gone Girl and the rest of Gillian Flynn books. And I read Middle Grade a lot more now because I found out they’re SO fun… and YES LESS ROMANCE THANK GOD!! I think I don’t like to read Adult because I don’t like to read about Adulting. That’s just no fun.

    Like

  7. I read more YA as well, for the same reasons you mentioned: the characters are my age and it’s easy to relate to them. But if a story seems interesting, even if it’s not YA, I’ll give it a chance. One of my favorite books, for example, is “The Help” by Kathryn Stockett, and it’s not YA :/ I also love Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, and sometimes other middle-grade books … I haven’t read The Princess Saves Herself In This One but I’m really interested in it 🙂
    Great post 😀

    Like

  8. I haven’t read YA lately, I think I’m pass the age where I relate with the characters or the plot. Nowadays I read adult, historical romance or mystery >< I still have a couple of YA I want to read which I will, but lately my taste is far away from YA [I'm also not in the mood for YA most of the time].

    Like

  9. My reading pattern is very similar to yours. I used to read more non-YA than I do now. It’s hard when you have a YA niche blog though. ☺️ LOVE The Shades of Magic series!

    Like

  10. Nice post !!! I definitely primarily read YA because, like you said, I can relate more to the characters since they are my age, but looking on my shelves I do read a bit of adult, some middle grade and of course poetry so I’m pretty happy with the diversity of books I read. I do enjoy the diversity in YA and the constant releases though 😀

    Like

  11. Loved this post!! I, too, read a lot of YA novels which I’m trying to change a bit. I just recently read Lauren Oliver’s Rooms and absolutely loved it and it’s adult. I’m going to be finding a few biographies a try as well soon if I’m lucky!

    Like

  12. I’d say I read about 95% YA and 5% adult or other. The majority of my TBR is YA, but one of my favourite authors is Stephen King so he drastically bumps up my adult reading haha. I have found recently though that I’m getting a bit tired of the YA tropes and how repetitive it can get. But to be honest I haven’t read a lot of good YA lately, so maybe that’s why.

    Like

  13. I’m the same, I normally stick to YA. But the one book right now that’s coming to my mind that isn’t YA is The One and Only Ivan. That is a flippin fantastic book. I believe it’s for a bit younger than middle schoolers, and I read it in like a couple hours. It’s a heartbreaking tale of a mall gorilla and his journey from getting captured to getting into a zoo. And he does this by painting signs in order to try and save a baby elephant in the cage next to him. It’s soooooo amazing!

    Like

  14. Yes I do! Mostly chic lit because this characters are actually closer to my age lol! And I want to diversify my reading. I’m planning to read the shades of magic series by VE Schwab at some point this year

    Like

  15. I’ve been trying to read outside of YA more, specifically more adult fiction and nonfiction. YA has been my favorite to read since I was in middle school and I’m now almost 22 and just feel like it’s time to explore a bit beyond that, haha. I don’t think I’ll ever completely stop loving and reading YA, though. There are just so many great stories!

    Like

  16. I livein Germany and when I was in the “right” age for YA (so starting like 10 years ago) the available choices at the bookshops around here weren’t really up to my taste. Plus I had already read most of the interesting ones the local library had in the two to three years before that. So when I was 14/15 I read about as much adult novels as YA. Plus between school and studying literature after I had to read a lot of adult novels for my courses. I’ve only been reading more YA for about one or two years, and my bookshelves are still about three quarters adult books.
    Also if you want to read more poetry, you could try milk and honey by Rupi Kaur, it’s a similar direction as the princess saves herself from this one. And personally I adore Wishing for Birds by Elizabeth Hewer (if you ever came across a fandom edit with the line “God should have made girls lethal/when he made monsters of men.” that’s from one of her poems) I also enjoyed Parallax by Sinéad Morrissey and The Flowers of Evil by Charles Baudelaire. (Sorry if I went a little off the rails with this, I just really enjoy poetry)

    Like

  17. I rarely read YA, to be honest. Maybe it’s because I am too old for them haha. They didn’t really catch my attention. Even during my teenage years I read adult books.

    I read 90% adult fiction and 10% middle grade 🙂

    Like

  18. Usually when I’m thinking about this question, I like to say 50% of the books I read are YA/MG and the other adult. If I really counted it, it’d probably be like 60/40. I love reading YA and I feel like most of the time, they’re more interesting and better written. I think it’s just because of the themes and the sort of transformations the characters have to go through for it to be considered YA (YA is more than just the main character’s age). When I read adult books, I tend to go for ones that have won or been nominated for specific awards i.e. Canada Reads, Governor General’s award, etc. It’s a really simple way of finding adult book recommendations. There are a few select authors writing adult who I started reading as a teen and will always read (like Sherrilyn Kenyon). Adult books are good, but YA books just create these feelings within me that can’t compare.

    Like

  19. I usually read YA but I also try to read more adult fiction and recently historic fiction. I also want to read more non-fiction and right now I am reading A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking (pop-science). Two examples of books outside YA that I love are All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr (I just finished it and loved it; historic adult fiction), Hold Back The Stars (adult sci-fi). I can also recommend Room by Emma Donoghue, Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion and The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker. Those are pretty much all the adult books I read in the past two years (shame on me, I should read more!).

    Like

  20. I actually don’t read a lot of YA which I’m trying to change. I tend to read a lot, I mean lots of adult fiction and poetry which might seem a bit weird because I’m still a teenager (till May, that it).

    I however love reading middle grade books a lot.

    Great post as always, Ava!

    Like

Leave a Reply

